Kitsap DEM Home Page

Kitsap County 2021 Emergency Management Council

Kitsap County 2021 Emergency Management Council

Kitsap County Commissioners
    Edward E. Wolfe, Dist 3   
Bainbridge Island  Councilmember 
Joe Deets, Council Vice-Chair      
 Bremerton Mayor
Greg Wheeler  
Council Chair

Poulsbo Mayor
Becky Erickson       

Port Orchard Mayor
Rob Putaansuu

About Us

Kitsap County is home to approximately 254,000 residents and is located between Hood Canal and the Puget Sound areas. The County occupies lowlands in the shadow of the Olympic Mountains. The peninsula is deeply dissected by inlets giving the County roughly 210 miles of salt water coastline. Kitsap County has the longest coastline of any County in the continental limits of the United States.

With over 425 inhabitants per square mile, excluding the military population, Kitsap County is the second most densely populated area in the State. Kitsap County has a land mass of 394 miles and has 33 miles of fresh water waterfront.

Kitsap County Department of Emergency Management (KCDEM) is responsible for providing the emergency and disaster needs of the greater Kitsap County area including the cities of Bainbridge Island, Bremerton, Poulsbo, Port Orchard and the unincorporated areas of Silverdale.

KCDEM develops and maintains the Kitsap County Comprehensive Emergency Management Plans (KC-CEMP) as a  blueprint for response to a variety of emergency scenarios. We also assist the cities located in Kitsap County with the development and maintenance of their Comprehensive Emergency Management Plans.

Mission Statement
The mission of the Kitsap County Department of Emergency Management is to prepare for, respond to, recover from and mitigate any emergency or disaster that affects Kitsap County and its cities.